Meet the Governing Body

Vision Statement:

'Our mission is to be a safe, caring, inclusive community where our core Christian values of Appreciation, Belonging and Compassion are recognised and developed.  At our school everyone should feel valued and cared for.  We encourage each other to have the faith to believe in our hopes and dreams so that we can become the best we can be.'

The Headteacher and Governing Body work closely together to strategically plan for continued improvement of standards (social, emotional and academic) and ensure that schools policies and procedures are robust and effective.


Keeping children safe is a key role of the governors. All Governors complete the Child Protection training and are familiar with Keeping Children Safe in Education.  Our Safeguarding Governor is Mrs Norma Day.  Her role includes checking the Single Central Register of staff and volunteers on a regular basis, assisting in the recruitment of new staff, as part of her Safer Recruitment role, and meeting with the Headteacher to audit the school's safeguarding provision and complete the annual Safeguarding return to DfE.


The governing body of the school is made up of members of the parent body, members of the wider community, members from the church community and the teaching staff. Each autumn the governing body elects a chairperson and vice chairperson for the coming year and new parent governors are elected as required.

Chairperson End of Term
Sarah Densham (Parent Governor) 19/11/2021
Vice Chairperson  
Georgie Nicoll (Parent Governor) 13/07/2022
Sarah Vittle  Headteacher
Co-opted Governor (VACANT)  
Rev Clare Welham (Ex Officio) Ongoing whilst in post
Duncan Sergeant (LEA Governor) 17/10/2021
Norma Day  (Foundation Governor) 31/08/2021
Kerriann McLackland (Foundation Governor) 09/07/2020
Charles Louisson (Co-opted Governor) 13/05/2023
Tim Nabb (Parent Governor) 02/02/2024
Co-Opted Governor (VACANT)  
Staff Governor (VACANT)  
Maria Burr (Clerk to Governors)  


To find out more about our Governors, their background and the Committees they are part of, please click on the attachment below.

Dates of our next meetings:
23rd September 2019
11th November 2019
3rd February 2020
16th March 2020
11th May 2020
9th July 2020